Hurricane Fly

As I sat watching old races of Hurricane fly I realised how much I miss that amazing horse!

With a career that started in a 2 runner 6f race in France, fly was second of two. Who would of thought that racing history would be made with him.

In his first start over timber in may 08 he won a 22 runner maiden hurdle and never looked back picking up an incredible 23 wins from 29 starts over hurdles and cemented himself as the greatest hurdler of all time. 22 of which where grade 1 wins. ‘ A horse of his generation’ Hurricane fly recorded 5 Irish champion hurdles, Ryanair hurdle 3 times,  Stan James champion hurdle 3 times among other big race wins. 145140-173355.jpg

My favourite horse of all time my first memory that sticks out from watching the Cheltenham festival March 2015, Hurricane fly beat off peddlers cross and Oscar whiskey in the champion hurdle. After watching this is decided I loved jumps racing and have embarked on a journey of obsession with the sport since.

Ruby-Hurricane-Fly-Mullins-2012_2756624.jpg

My favourite race I’ve ever seen him in has to be the Ryan air hurdle 2014 when he wasn’t fluent at the start of the race but grew in confidence throughout and gunned down jezki and Arctic fire, finishing so strong after winging the last. Still to this day I remember jumping around the bookies not at the fact I’d won money it was he won and won with guts and determination. From 29 runs he never seen the canvas and this is the reason I think he will be regarded as the best ever. In my eyes anyway!!

A horse I sorely miss watching. I hope your enjoying your retirement fly!!

_51689470_011533232-1

 

About atthelast01

Horse racing advisery
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

